FIFA announces 32-team Club World Cup from 2025 with Chelsea and Man City through to the tournament

► Subscribe to Sky Sports News:

Liverpool and Manchester United have been locked out of playing in FIFA’s new Club World Cup which will be held for the first time in the summer of 2025.

The FIFA Council meeting in the Saudi Arabian city of Jeddah on Sunday agreed the qualifying criteria, confirming that a maximum of two clubs can qualify from one country for the new 32-team tournament.

England’s two places will go to recent Champions League winners Chelsea and Manchester City.

Until Sunday’s confirmation of qualifying criteria, Liverpool had a chance of qualifying based on their Champions League performances over the past three seasons.

Arsenal can qualify but only if they win the Champions League this season.

#SkySportsNews #SkySports #FIFA

► For the latest developments on this story:

More from Sky Sports on YouTube:

► Sky Sports Retro:
► Sky Sports:
► Sky Sports Football:
► Sky Sports Boxing:
► Sky Sports F1:
► Sky Sports Cricket:
► Sky Sports Golf:

► To enquire about licensing Sky Sports News content, you can find out more here:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from Afri Announcer

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading